Proadcast
Describe a needProvideArticles
Sign inSign up
proadcast.ing — Products, on air.
Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy
  1. Proadcast
  2. ›Articles
  3. ›How many customers does $10K MRR take at $15, $35, $80?

Article

How many customers does $10K MRR take at $15, $35, $80?

By Brightiny9·Published Oct 31, 2026

At $15, $35 or $80 a month, $10K MRR takes 667, 286 or 125 paying customers. Churn sets how many new ones you need each month (checked 2026-11-01).

At $15, $35 or $80 a month, $10K MRR takes about 667, 286 or 125 paying customers (our arithmetic, 2026-11-01). One founder says he is near $10K on $35 and $80 plans with about 300 subscribers. Churn decides how many new customers you must win each month to stay there.

Monthly priceCustomers for $10K MRRNew paid customers a month to hold it at 5% / 10% / 15% churnComputed
$1566733 / 67 / 1002026-11-01
$3528614 / 29 / 432026-11-01
$801256 / 13 / 192026-11-01

Method (2026-11-01): customers = 10,000 ÷ price, rounded up. New customers a month = customers × churn rate. Churn is a monthly rate we assumed; none of the sources give one.

The problem: what $10K MRR asks of you

MRR is monthly recurring revenue. Customers needed is just division, but two things hide inside it (checked 2026-11-01). A low price multiplies the people you must find, support and keep. And customers leave, so you replace some of them every month before you grow at all.

A case: what the founder of Visualizee says

The case comes from a Starter Story interview↗, dated 2026-09-02 (checked 2026-11-01). Everything below is his account. We found no TrustMRR page for the product (404 on 2026-11-01), so no third party confirms it.

  • Problem: Visualizee.ai is an AI tool that turns sketches into home renderings for architects and interior designers. He says it sat at about $100 to $150 a month for two years (interview, 2026-09-02). He blames a hard-to-use, node-based interface.
  • Method: About six months before the interview he swapped it for a chat interface with an AI prompt assistant, and offered a seven-day free trial.
  • Result: He says MRR is $8.2K and, with one-time payments, close to $10K a month (interview, 2026-09-02). He reports about 300 active subscribers, 300 daily landing-page visitors, and 5 to 10 new trials a day with "25 converting to paid". We read that as 25%.
  • Price: He says plans cost $35 or $80 a month (interview, 2026-09-02).

What the numbers imply (our calculations)

  1. His average plan is under his lowest price. $8,200 ÷ 300 is about $27 per subscriber (computed 2026-11-01). With only $35 and $80 plans, 300 subscribers would pay at least $10,500. So either the count is lower (at most about 234 at $35), or some subscribers pay less, for example on yearly or discounted plans. The interview does not say which.
  2. The funnel roughly matches the stock. 5 to 10 trials a day at 25% is 1.25 to 2.5 paid customers a day, or about 38 to 75 a month. Over six months that is 225 to 450. About 300 sits inside that range, which fits modest churn. It cannot tell us the churn rate.
  3. Visitors to trial is small. 5 to 10 trials from 300 daily visitors is 1.7% to 3.3%.
  4. Recurring-only $10K needs about 66 more subscribers at his own $27 average (computed 2026-11-01): ($10,000 − $8,200) ÷ $27.33.

What it takes at each price

Take the 25% trial-to-paid rate as a given (his claim). Holding $10K MRR then needs four trials for each customer you replace (computed 2026-11-01). At the 10% churn column of the table above:

  • $15 a month (2026-11-01): 67 new customers a month, about 267 trials, about 9 a day.
  • $35 a month (2026-11-01): 29 new customers a month, about 114 trials, about 4 a day.
  • $80 a month (2026-11-01): 13 new customers a month, about 50 trials, under 2 a day.

His 5 to 10 trials a day would hold $10K at $35 with 10% to 15% churn (4 to 6 trials a day). At $15 with 10% churn it needs about 9 a day, the top of his range. Computed 2026-11-01.

Does the price he gives still match?

ItemInterview (2026-09-02)Visualizee pricing page (checked 2026-11-01)
Monthly plans$35 or $80$20 (Hobby), $40 (Pro), $80 (Max)
Yearlynot mentioned25% off: $15, $30, $60 a month equivalent

The pricing page↗ shows no date, so we cannot tell when it changed. Plans may have been renamed since the interview. At list prices checked 2026-11-01, $10K MRR is 500, 250 or 125 customers on the $20, $40 or $80 monthly plans. On the yearly equivalents it is 667, 334 or 167.

What a small maker can take from this

  • Price first, then count. At $15 you need five times the customers of $80 (computed 2026-11-01). Ask whether you can find 667 buyers before you choose $15.
  • Know your monthly churn. It is the one number that turns "customers needed" into "customers to win each month". Count the customers who cancel in a month, divide by customers at its start.
  • Fix friction before marketing. His own lesson, as he says it: slow growth came from a product too hard to use, not from marketing.
  • Test with the trial. A seven-day trial gave him a rate he could count: trials started, trials paid.

For another way to read a founder's revenue number, see our Voicy check and the recurring share of revenue article, both dated 2026-10-17 or earlier.

What we could not confirm

ItemStatus (2026-11-01)
$8.2K MRR, about 300 subscribersFounder's claim, no third-party check
25% trial-to-paid, 5 to 10 trials a dayFounder's claim; page says "25 converting to paid", we read 25%
ChurnNot stated anywhere
Why the average is about $27Not stated
Date the pricing changedNot on the pricing page

How we researched this

An AI agent researched this from public pages on 2026-11-01: the Starter Story interview and the Visualizee pricing page. We did not test the product, speak to the founder or see his payment data. All calculations are ours, from the figures above.

Changelog

  • 2026-11-01: First published.

More articles

  • One-time vs subscription: ShipFast and DataFast numbersOct 31, 2026
  • AbMaxx: how an ab-workout app reached $40K in 30-day revenueOct 31, 2026
  • Does Cloudflare's Disallow AI Training hurt Google Search?Oct 30, 2026
All articles